Donning a Contagious Smile

Note to my reader: This post is a part (#2) of  ’30 Day Writing Challenge’ that I found on Pinterest. The challenge is a collection of simple writing prompts.

I was at a meet and greet with the immediate next batch of people of a course I had taken recently. Mutual greetings were happening. I went up to one of them and he said to me, “I see that you are always smiling.”

I was confused. It was not a usual first greeting. “Sorry?”, said I. “You always have that pleasant smile on you. You see, we always get these, ‘Smile. It costs nothing.’ kind of ‘forward’ messages on whatsapp; you are actually doing that.” It felt GOOD! 😀

I was surprised at the person’s observation and he immediately connecting it to that “whatsapp forwards” message. When I thought about it later on, I was astounded by how actually true that connection was.

Back in the day (sorry for such an old school phrase. I know it kinda projects me as an old person. But, you will see how relevant that phrase here is) when the internet (I am still talking about the LAN connection, not Wi-fi), forget whatsapp or even smartphones for that matter, was not yet a household thing, there was this wall poster that was quite famous and could be found almost at every household and informal meeting places:                      

This was when I was 8-11 years old and frankly, it influenced me. It influenced me to smile, always, at anybody and everybody, no matter their economic-financial status. It lets me make friends with people of all sorts at various walks of my life. My networking starts with my smile. A genuine welcoming smile every time I meet a person, even if it is the same person for a 100th time.

What is the give-away from this story, you ask? Smile A LOT, my dear you! It not only brings up one on the other person, it will bring upon an even bigger one on you. And, you can boast about it all day to everybody, like I am doing now! ^_^

Cheers!

Image: Internet

Author: Nikhila D.

Loves reading, travelling, and gradually trying my hand in writing. Multi-lingual, Science graduate, lit lover, & an avid reader. Loves Black & White photos. And yes, likes to add a little humour to life; like my profile picture! :D WELCOME TO MY BLOG!

Leave a Reply

